Fallow Ground

Judy and I have worked in our garden a lot this spring, bringing in compost, roto-tillinng, getting the seedlings started, getting the watering system up and running – it’s a lot of work to get ready.  Last year we had one crane melon plant that produced three delicious, sweet melons.  So I decided this year to expand and put in a whole melon patch.  That meant I had to tear down the fence around part of my garden and add a new ten-foot by twenty-foot area.  The place I chose has been a pasture for years.  I use it mostly to let my sheep graze, an unused area full of tall grass and weeds that I occasionally mow down so the sheep will eat.

In order to prepare the ground, I had to weed-eat 200 square feet of tall grass down to the roots, and then get out the roto-tiller and turn it over.  This was real work, as my aching legs and back can attest.  After I tilled it once, I raked out all the leaves, and clumps of grass roots that had been torn loose and turned over.  As I uncovered the plot, I realized that it was dark, rich, fertile soil, perfect for my melons and whatever else I wanted to plant there.  There it was, a goldmine of nutrients that had been just sitting for eleven years!

As I worked the soil, I began to think about the condition of my own “garden”, and then I heard that still, small voice speaking to my spirit.  “Is there any area in your life that has lain dormant?  Let me break up the fallow ground of your heart, so that you might bear fruit, thirty, sixty, one hundred fold.”

Do you have areas that need plowing up so they can be made available to the planting of the Holy Spirit? I sure do.

Sow to yourselves in righteousness, reap in mercy; break up your fallow ground: for it is time to seek the LORD, till he come and rain righteousness upon you.    Hosea 10:12

Leave a Reply

